ISO approves 6 Diving Standards

ISO approves 6 Diving Standards
The International Standards Organization (ISO) is the largest developer of technical standards which positively impact our global society. In January 2007, six (6) recreational diving standards were approved. With the involvement of diver training organizations from many countries, ISO was able to act as a bridging organization to bring them all together to approve one standard that will be implemented world wide.

The ISO is a network of national standards institutes from 157 countries with a central Secretariat in Geneva, Switzerland that coordinates the system. For the United States, the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is the ISO representative. As the ANSI Accredited Standards Developer for recreational diving standards and safety, the Recreational Scuba Training Council (RSTC) actively participated in the ISO standards approval process.

Although some of the terminology is different, the long-standing industry standards developed by the RSTC are consistent with the applicable ISO Standards, as identified in the following chart.

RSTC Standard ISO Standard Alternative ISO Title
Introductory Scuba Experience No equivalent
No equivalent Level One Diver Supervised Diver
Open Water Diver Level Two Diver Autonomous Diver
Dive Supervisor Level Three Diver Dive Leader
Assistant Instructor Level 1 Instructor
Scuba Instructor Level 2 Instructor
Instructor Trainer No equivalent
No equivalent Service Provider
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply